CITY OF WEST TORRENS



MINUTES

of the CIVIC NON-PRESCRIBED GENERAL COMMITTEE

Members: Councillor S Tsiaparis (Presiding Member), Mayor J Trainer, Councillors: G Nitschke, S Rypp, R Haese, T Polito, K McKay, J Woodward

of the

CITY OF WEST TORRENS

held in the Mayor's Reception Room, Civic Centre 165 Sir Donald Bradman Drive, Hilton

On

THURSDAY, 26 APRIL 2018 at 6.00pm

Terry Buss PSM Chief Executive Officer

City of West Torrens Disclaimer

Please note that the contents of this Committee Minutes have yet to be considered by Council and Committee recommendations may be altered or changed by the Council in the process of making the formal Council decision.

Index

1	Meeting Opened		
	1.1	Evacuation Procedure	
2	Prese	ent	1
3	Apologies		
4	Disclosure Statements		
5	Confirmation of Minutes		
6	Comi	munication by the Chairperson	2
7	Outstanding Reports / Actions		2
	7.1	Civic Committee Open Actions Update - April 2018	2
8	Reports of the Chief Executive Officer		
	8.1	Involving Women in Sports Grants	2
	8.2	Solar Panel Rebate for Community Groups Program	3
	8.3	Project 294 - 2018 Judging Panel	4
	8.4	Community Grants - January 2018 to April 2018	4
9	Othe	r Business	5
10	Confidential		5
11	Next Meeting		
12	Meeting Close		

1 MEETING OPENED

The Presiding Member declared the meeting open at 6.10pm.

1.1 Evacuation Procedure

The evacuation procedures were taken as read.

2 PRESENT

Committee Members:

Cr G Nitschke (Presiding Member)

Mayor J Trainer

Councillors: S Rypp, R Haese, J Woodward

Officers:

Mr T Buss (Chief Executive Officer)

Ms P Koritsa (General Manager Business and Community Services)

3 APOLOGIES

Apologies

Committee Members:

Cr Simon Tsiaparis (Presiding Member) Cr Kym McKay

Absent

Cr Tony Polito

RECOMMENDATION

That the apologies be received.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION

Moved: Cr Steven Rypp Seconded: Cr John Woodward

That the recommendation be adopted.

CARRIED

4 DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS

Nil

5 CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

RECOMMENDATION

That the Minutes of the meeting of the Civic Committee held on 27 February 2018 be confirmed as a true and correct record.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION

Moved: Cr John Woodward Seconded: Cr Rosalie Haese

That the recommendation be adopted.

CARRIED

6 COMMUNICATION BY THE CHAIRPERSON

Nil

7 OUTSTANDING REPORTS / ACTIONS

7.1 Civic Committee Open Actions Update - April 2018

This report presented an update on the current status of open actions from previous meetings of the Civic Committee.

RECOMMENDATION

The Committee recommends to Council that it notes the status of current open actions.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION

Moved: Cr Steven Rypp Seconded: Cr John Woodward

That the recommendation be adopted.

CARRIED

8 REPORTS OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

8.1 Involving Women in Sports Grants

This report presented the guidelines for an 'Involving Women in Sports' grant.

RECOMMENDATION

The Committee recommends to Council that:

- 1. An Involving Women in Sports category, with a maximum of \$3,000 per application capped at \$15,000 per annum, be included in the City of West Torrens Grants and Sponsorship program.
- 2. The amended City of West Torrens Grants and Sponsorship Guidelines be approved.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION

Moved: Cr John Woodward Seconded: Cr Steven Rypp

That the recommendation be adopted.

CARRIED

8.2 Solar Panel Rebate for Community Groups Program

This report summarised a proposed Solar Panel Rebate for Community Groups Program.

RECOMMENDATION

The Committee recommends to Council that:

- 1. It approves the implementation of a Solar Panel Rebate Program for Community Groups on a 12 month trial basis.
- 2. The Guidelines for the City of West Torrens Grants and Sponsorship be amended to include the Solar Panel Rebate Program for Community Groups and associated criteria and information detailed within this report.
- 3. A review be undertaken at the completion of the trial period, the outcomes of which to be reported to the Committee.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION

Moved: Cr John Woodward Seconded: Cr Rosalie Haese

The Committee recommends to Council that:

- 1. It approves the implementation of a Solar Panel Rebate Program for Community Groups on a 12 month trial basis.
- 2. The Guidelines for the City of West Torrens Grants and Sponsorship be amended to include the Solar Panel Rebate Program for Community Groups and associated criteria and information detailed within this report with the following amendment to the rebate pricing structure:

System	*Rebate
1.5 kW	\$1,000
2 kW	\$1,300
3 kW	\$1,500
4 kW	\$1,800
>5 - 7 kW	\$2,000
>7kW	\$3,000

^{*}after all other incentives, grants, rebates and discounts received have been deducted.

3. A review be undertaken at the completion of the trial period, the outcomes of which to be reported to the Committee.

CARRIED

Agreed Action

The Chief Executive Officer agreed to prepare a report on the inclusion of a rebate program for the solar battery storage for community groups as part of Council's Green Initiatives Rebate Program.

8.3 Project 294 - 2018 Judging Panel

This report presented the proposed judging panel for the 2018 - Project 294 competition.

RECOMMENDATION

The Committee recommends to Council that Steven Hoepfner, Elliot Keane and Kerry Taylor be appointed as the judging panel for the 2018 Project 294 competition.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION

Moved: Cr Rosalie Haese Seconded: Mayor John Trainer

That the recommendation be adopted.

CARRIED

8.4 Community Grants - January 2018 to April 2018

This report presents those community grants applications received since the 27 February 2018 meeting of the Civic Committee.

RECOMMENDATION

The Committee recommends to Council that the distribution of community grants, as detailed in the report and **Attachment 1** of the Agenda report, be approved.

COMMITTEE RESOLUTION

Moved: Cr Steven Rypp Seconded: Cr John Woodward

That the recommendation be adopted.

CARRIED

9 OTHER BUSINESS

A draw for the placement of Elected Member articles in Talking Points was conducted with the following results:

- 1) Cr Simon Tsiaparis
- 2) Mayor John Trainer
- 3) Cr Graham Nitschke
- 4) Cr Tony Polito
- 5) Cr Rosalie Haese
- 6) Cr Steven Rypp
- 7) Cr Kym McKay
- 8) Cr George Vlahos
- 9) Cr Garth Palmer
- 10) Cr Arthur Mangos
- 11) Cr George Demetriou
- 12) Cr Megan hill
- 13) Cr John Woodward
- 14) Cr Michael Farnden
- 15) Cr Cindy O'Rielley

10 CONFIDENTIAL

Nil

11 NEXT MEETING

26 June 2018, 6.00pm in the Mayor's Reception Room.

12 MEETING CLOSE

The Presiding Member declared the meeting closed at 6.31pm